Onwards and Upwards

I read several posts today that really resonated with me, and with the tricky few days I’ve just had. While I’m all for exploring how I’m feeling at a particular moment, what I want to avoid doing is getting bogged down in feeling sorry for myself- it’s not productive, and won’t help me change behaviours that I want to leave behind.

A while ago, a certain Healthy Everythingtarian wrote about turning negatives into positives, and this has inspired me to start my own May July of positivity. Here goes!

  1. My body is strong, fast, and does pretty much anything I ask it to do. It’s about time I celebrate what it can do rather than what I perceive to be flaws or weaknesses! Starting off with thanking it for carrying me on a great 35 minute run this morning – I knocked almost 7 minutes off my usual time for that route! Obviously heartache has some good effects on the old legs 😉
  2. So what if I’ve had pretty bad luck with guys up until now? Even though I got the less-than-great news last night that someone I had been seeing has decided to get back together with his ex, I have to see this as a lucky escape. Thank goodness I found out now, rather than months down the line. Who cares if he told me in a text message? It just goes to show that a guy who doesn’t have the courtesy to call me obviously isn’t such a great catch after all.
  3. I’m at a very uncertain stage in my life right now – I just finished university, and don’t have any job prospects or plans for further education. However – instead of being nervous about this, I should be excited. I’m free to go wherever I choose. I graduated with a good degree from the university ranked number 3 in the UK, so once I get my butt into gear and start sending my CV to people, I’m sure I’ll be fine (that’s what I’m telling myself anyway 😉 )
  4. I often feel out of control, especially with regards to my eating patterns and choices. The key word here is choices. Even though it seems that I lose control, I have to remind myself that the strength and discipline I applied to my studies hasn’t just disappeared. I can do it, and I am not helpless.
  5. While they sometimes struggle to understand what I’m going through, I have a family who loves and supports me unconditionally. I know that there’s also an incredible network of women in the blogosphere who have already extended their support to me, showing me that even though I may feel isolated by the issues I have with food, I am never alone.

Tina said something that really sums up what I’m trying to say:

” I’ve learned that if I’m not happy with something in my life, I need to DO something about it. I can’t just sit back and watch. Plus, I had nothing to lose! I’m just glad to be in a different place in my life right now.”

Similarly, Julie shared what her yoga instructor told her class the other day:

  • “Every day you decide to work out you make a decision to benefit your health. This is no small feat. Be proud of yourself for making your health and well-being a priority.
  • If you keep doing what you’ve been doing, you’re going to keep looking how you’ve been looking.”
  • When I read these sentiments, I felt inspired to carry their message into my own life. While I know it isn’t realistic to expect a dramatic change overnight, I need to realise that if something is going to happen for the better, the only person who can bring this change about is me. Instead of seeing my workouts as a chore or obligation to be fulfilled, or as a necessary punishment to make up for overeating, I have to flip this way of thinking on its head – going for a run is a treat, and a luxury that a lot of people don’t have access to. I’ve been taking my mobility for granted, and I need to take pride in every step that I take, just like Julie’s yoga instructor said.

    I always knew that there were some very special, compassionate women in this community, but now that I’ve experienced your kindness personally I’m filled with optimism for my month of positivity 🙂

    xKx

    3 Comments (+add yours?)

    1. lisaou11
      Jul 14, 2010 @ 17:10:45

      You are right. The world is an endless amount of possibilities for you now. Be excited! I would love to go back to that time when I just graduated and I might possibly change the way I went about doing things.

      Reply

    2. peanutbutterfingers
      Jul 15, 2010 @ 15:38:49

      i absolutely love your takeaways from these messages. this totally struck a cord with me: “While I know it isn’t realistic to expect a dramatic change overnight, I need to realize that if something is going to happen for the better, the only person who can bring this change about is me.”

      Reply

    3. karrieanne5
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 17:40:51

      Thanks for the positive words – it’s wonderful to be able to come back and read them when I need to be bucked up a bit 🙂

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

